Fred Packard was a much respected Trustee of The British Racing School from 1997 until his death in 2009. During this time he took particular interest in the young people involved in training at the School. As a result, following his death, his family have generously agreed to fund an annual Scholarship in his name.

The winner in 2010 was Laura Morgan from Chris Bealby’s yard in Lincolnshire. She has spent three months with top Australian trainer Peter Moody and in her own words ‘for me this has been a once in a lifetime experience and will stand me in good stead for my career’.

The 2011 winner was Catrin Eynon from Colin Tizzard’s yard in Dorset. She also went to Peter Moody. In her words “Peter Moody is a pure genius and a great horseman. I’ve been so lucky and gained so much by spending my time with him – what a gentleman…….Thank you for making my time unforgettable’. A full account of Catrin’s time there can be seen on

Shannon Gates won the Fred Packard Racing Scholarship in 2012.  Shannon was working for trainer Linda Jewell and flew out to be with Alistair Gordon and his wife who have a training yard near Durban in South Africa. 

The 2013 winner was Charles Foot from Anthony Honeyball’s yard. He spent three months with Alistair Gordon in South Africa and thoroughly enjoyed his time there. Please see his blog at

My African Adventure Report – Charles Foot


The 2016 winner was Laura Winstanley and you can follow her journey on Facebook


The aim of the Scholarship is to provide an opportunity to a young person who works in a trainer’s yard in the UK to spend 3 months in a trainer’s yard in Australia or South Africa.

It is intended that this experience will develop their personal skills, experience and character and as a result, enhance their potential to progress to a position of responsibility in a trainer’s yard.

What it consists of

The winner will spend 3 months with a top trainer in either Australia or South Africa. The trainer will be asked to provide as wide as possible experience of racing in that country which meets the objectives of the Scholarship and will enhance the winner’s career prospects as a result.

The winner will be expected to act as an ambassador for British racing and which reflects well on the Scholarship and the generosity of the Packard family. On return, the winner will be required to write a report for the Management Committee summarising their activity and what they feel they gained. The Scholarship will provide funds for the following:

  • Flights to either Australia/South Africa
  • Internal flights
  • Salary for 3 months (at the rate paid by the UK trainer)
  • Incidental expenses allowance (£100 a week)

The trainer in Australia/South Africa will be required to provide accommodation during the stay.


There is no Fred Packard Scholarship in 2015.

From 2016 onwards the British Racing School will select and invite 6 of the most deserving and outstanding Trainees to attend a selection day.  One will win the scholarship and travel to Australia or South Africa early in 2017 for 3 months.


Selection of the winner will be made by the Management Committee which consists of:

  • Mrs Dulce Packard
  • William Haggas
  • Sir Mark Prescott Bt
  • Richard Onslow
  • Grant Harris

The BRS will provide the administrative support to the Management Committee.

There is no Fred Packard Scholarship to be awarded in 2015 due to a change in the selection process.